New bishop appointed


Venerable George Davison the new Bishop of Connor.

The new Bishop of Connor is the Venerable George Davison, who has been serving as Archdeacon of Belfast, also in the Diocese of Connor.
The announcement was made yesterday following the Episcopal Electoral College for the Diocese of Connor, meeting in the Alexander Synod Hall, Armagh.
He succeeds the Rt Revd Alan Abernethy who retired at the end of December.
He is the third new bishop to be appointed in the northern province of the Church of Ireland in the last three months.
The new Bishop of Derry and Raphoe, Right Revd Andrew Forster, was appointed in December and the new Bishop of Down and Dromore, Right Revd David McClay, was appointed in January.